Fachbegriffe Schweißen


Terms

The DVS bulletin sheet 2911 “Capacitor discharge welding - basics, processes and technology” describes the main features of CD welding and defines general terms and variables:

  • Common Terms:
    Component check Comparison of the attained actual position in relation to the target position after the application of the moving electrode to the joining parts and completion of the force generation prior to welding. If the actual/target difference lies outside the adjustable limit value, an error message is generated and welding is prevented.
    Yield path
    sI/mm
    Path of the moving electrode during the current flow and the hold time (until electrode standstill). This value can be monitored.
    Electrode force FS/kN Contact pressure with which the electrodes press on the parts to be joined.
    Charging voltage U0/V The voltage with which the capacitors were changed before welding. The energy fed to the transformer is determined by the capacitance and the charging voltage.
    Hold time
    tNH/ms
    Directly follows the current flow time; during the hold time the weld point cools under the contact pressure.
    Welding energy
    E/kWs

    The energy stored in the capacitors before welding, which is calculated per E = 0.5 C U02.

    Setting path
    sF/mm
    Path of the electrode from the default position (electrodes open) to application to the joining parts. At the end of the setting process, the component check takes place.
    Peak current IP/kA Maximum value over the time progression of the weld current, which is to be characterised as exponential surge current (one half sine wave, which is superimposed by a subsiding exponential function). Incorrectly also referred to as “welding current”.
  • Supplementary terms:

    Through the technical further development, primarily through the use of the multi-pulse technology MCS and the analysis of the operating behaviour (including the machine measurement), further terms have been coined by Kapkon:

    Impaired coupling of the transformer; the main inductance of the transformer is so low that the magnetising current cannot be ignored, which leads to a deviating translation ratio of the peak currents in comparison to the translation ratio of the transformer.
    Attenuation key values Generic term for the three characteristic variables angular eigenfrequency ωe, decay constant δ and angular resonance frequency ω0, which characterise the behaviour of the function circuit of the CD machine.
    Sweep-through charging voltage UD0/V is what a capacitor receives if it is charged without a freewheel circuit in the circuitry by the main current with opposite charge as the initial charging voltage. Differentiation is made between the sweep-through charging voltage and the back charging voltage URück.
    Electrical basic variables Generic term for the variables resistance, inductance and capacitance, which determine the time progression of the process variables current and capacitor voltage.
    End current ISt/kA 5 % of the peak current (ISt = 0.05 IP) on the descending path of the current curve, which determines the end of the current time tI.
    Discharge time point tUn

    Time point at which a capacitor that feeds the main current is discharged (uC = 0).

    Fixed coupling of the transformer; due to the large main inductance of the transformer, the magnetising current can be ignored; the translation ratio of the peak currents and that of the transformer concur.
    Function circuit as part of the power circuit of a CD machine, encompasses the primary and secondary circuit, as well as the transformer.
    Joining energy EF Energy fed directly to the joining point.
    gKE “Clocked capacitor discharge”; the discharge of a capacitor does not take place continuously via a switching thyristor, but rather in a clocked manner via a power semiconductor that can be switched off (IGBT).
    Half-value current Ih Half value of the peak current (Ih = 0.05 IP) on the descending path of the current curve, which determines the end of the welding time th.
    Main phase (HP) Phase einer KE-Schweißung, in der der Hauptstrom den Kondensator entlädt.
    Commutation (KV) Phase of CD welding, in which the main current from one semiconductor valve (the thyristor) changes to another (the freewheeling diode).
    KShW “Short-term welding with high heat flux density” is the process designation that consolidates resistance pressure welding and metal vapour pressure welding. The process is characterised by a high energy density, which is fed to the joining point within a very short time.
    MCS “Multi Capacitor Source”; technical system that uses multiple capacitors with difference capacitances for one CD welding process.
    Metal vapour
    pressure welding
    Process whereby the current density in the joining point must be sufficiently large that metal vapour forms, which activates the surfaces of the joining partners. A large force presses these together to inter-atomic distance, whereby a bond is created through atomic attraction. A partial melt (focus) does not (generally) occur.
    Nominal basic variables

    Electrical basic variables pertaining to nominal conditions.

    Back charging
    voltage URück/V
    is what a capacitor receives if it is charged by the subsiding partial current of the thyristor branch during commutation with opposite charge as the initial charging voltage. Differentiation is made here between the back charging voltage and sweep-through charging voltage UD0.
    Key parameters A group of individual parameters - current increase time tP, peak current IP, welding time th, current flow time tI, capacitor discharge time tUn, current-time integral Qit, specific joining energy ϵF and effective current Ieff – which characterise the characteristic operating points of the CD welding process in its electrical behaviour. For a current progression without freewheel, it is necessary to add the current flow duration of the first half period t.
    Welding start t0/ms the time point at which the welding process begins. According to DVS bulletin sheet 2911, this moment is marked by an exceeding of the trigger threshold (≤ 5 % of the measuring range end value) or by a specially defined parameter (e.g. the first time the transformer secondary voltage of 4 V is exceeded).
    Specific
    joining energy ϵF

    The joining energy pertaining to a resistance of 1 mΩ. Additionally, ϵ50 is defined as the joining energy pertaining to a resistance of 50 μΩ.

    Peak current ratio IDP/IP as a relationship of the peak currents of the second and first half-wave of damped oscillation without equal directionality.
    Current run-on (NL) Phase of CD welding, in which the main current is fed from the freewheeling branch.
    Thermal coupling for multiphase welding. The temperature of the joining point only drops until the welding process is continued with a new pulse. For this purpose, the current must not fall below the lower limit of i > 0.3 IP.
    Typifying of CD machines; representation of the electrical type in the form Q1itvIP; whereby the two type parameters current-time integral and current increase speed characterise the welding behaviour of the machine. Types can also be determined for multi-capacitor welding.
    Re-charge ratio VUU Ratio of the sweep-through charging voltage to the initial charging voltage of a capacitor with operation without the freewheeling branch.
    “Virtual inductance” A clocked IGBT as a circuit element in the function circuit, which can be used via different duty cycles like variable inductance.
    Resistance pressure welding   Process whereby the joining point is conductively melted and the connection between the partners is established through the solidified melt (referred to as focus). During the welding process, the joining parts are pressed together under great force.

Fachbegriffe Schweißen


Begriffe

Das DVS-Merkblatt 2911 „Kondensatorentladungsschweißen – Grundlagen, Verfahren und Technik“ beschreibt die Grundzüge des KE-Schweißens und definiert allgemeine Begriffe und Größen:

  • Allgemeine Begriffe:
    Bauteilkontrolle Abgleich der erreichten Ist-Position in Bezug auf die Soll-Position nach dem Aufsetzen der beweglichen Elektrode auf die Fügeteile und abgeschlossenem Kraftaufbau vor dem Schweißen. Liegt die Ist-Soll-Differenz außerhalb des einstellbaren Grenzwerts wird eine Fehlermeldung generiert und das Schweißen verhindert.
    Einsinkweg sI/mm Weg der beweglichen Elektrode während der Stromfluss- und der Nachhaltezeit
    (bis zum Elektrodenstillstand). Dieser Wert kann überwacht werden.
    Elektrodenkraft FS/kN Anpresskraft, mit der die Elektroden auf die zu fügenden Teile drücken.
    Ladespannung U0/V Die Spannung, mit der die Kondensatoren vor dem Schweißen aufgeladen wurden. Über die Kapazität wird über die Ladespannung die dem Transformator zugeführte Energie bestimmt.
    Nachhaltezeit tNH/ms Schließt sich der Stromflusszeit an; während der Nachhaltezeit kühlt die Schweißstelle unter der Anpresskraft ab.
    Schweißenergie E/kWs

    Die vor dem schweißen in den Kondensatoren gespeicherte Energie, die sich nach E = 0,5 C U02 berechnet.

    Setzweg sF/mm Weg der Elektrode von der Grundposition (Elektroden geöffnet) bis zum Aufsetzen auf die Fügeteile. Am Ende des Setzvorgangs wird die Bauteilkontrolle durchgeführt.
    Spitzenstrom IP/kA Maximalwert im zeitliche Verlauf des Schweißstroms, der als exponentieller Stoßstrom (eine halbe Sinusschwingung, die von einer abklingenden Exponentialfunktion überlagert ist) zu charakterisieren ist. Fälschlich auch als „Schweißstrom“ bezeichnet.
  • Ergänzende Begriffe:

    Durch die technische Weiterentwicklung, hauptsächlich durch den Einsatz der Mehr-Puls-Technik MCS und der Analyse des Betriebsverhaltens (einschließlich der Maschinenvermessung) wurden durch Kapkon weitere Begriffe geprägt:

    beeinträchtigte Kopplung des Transformators; die Hauptinduktivität des Transformators ist so gering, dass der Magnetisierungsstrom nicht vernachlässigt werden kann, was zu einem abweichenden Übersetzungsverhältnis der Spitzenströme gegenüber dem Übersetzungsverhältnis des Transformators führt.
    Dämpfungskennwerte Oberbegriff der drei charakteristischen Größen Eigenkreisfrequenz ωe, Abklingkonstante δ und Resonanzkreisfrequenz ω0, die das Verhalten des Funktionsschaltung der KE-Maschine kennzeichnen.
    Durchschwingladespan.
    UD0/V
    erhält ein Kondensator, wenn er ohne einen Freilaufkreis in der Schaltung durch den Hauptstrom mit entgegengesetzter Ladung als der Anfangsladespannung aufgeladen wird. Die Durchschwingladespannung ist von der Rückladespannung URück zu unterscheiden.
    elektrische Grundgrößen Oberbegriff für die Größen Widerstand, Induktivität und Kapazität, die den zeitlichen Verlauf der Prozessgrößen Strom und Kondensatorspannung bestimmen.
    Endstrom ISt/kA 5 % des Spitzenstroms (ISt = 0,05 IP) auf dem abfallenden Ast der Stromkurve, der das Ende der Stromzeit tI bestimmt.
    Entladezeitpunkt tUn

    Zeitpunkt zu dem ein Kondensator, der den Hauptstrom speist, entladen ist (uC = 0).

    feste Kopplung des Transformators; durch die große Hauptinduktivität des Transformators kann der Magnetisierungsstrom vernachlässig werden; das Übersetzungsverhältnis der Spitzenströme und das des Transformators stimmen überein.
    Funktionsschaltung als Teil des Leistungskreises einer KE-Maschine umfasst sie Primär- und Sekundärkreis sowie den Transformator.
    Fügeenergie EF direkt der Fügestelle zugeführte Energie.
    gKE „getaktete Kondensatorentladung“; die Entladung eines Kondensators erfolgt nicht kontinuierlich über einen Schaltthyristor, sondern getaktet über einen abschaltbaren Leistungshalbleiter (IGBT).
    Halbwertstrom Ih halber Wert des Spitzenstroms (Ih = 0,05 IP) auf dem abfallenden Ast der Stromkurve, der das Ende der Schweißzeit th bestimmt.
    Hauptphase (HP) Phase einer KE-Schweißung, in der der Hauptstrom den Kondensator entlädt.
    Kommutierung (KV) Phase einer KE-Schweißung, in der der Hauptstrom von einem Halbleiterventil (dem Thyristor) auf ein anderes (der Freilaufdiode) wechselt.
    KShW „Kurzzeitschweißen mit hoher Wärmestromdichte“ ist die Verfahrensbezeichnung, die das Widerstandspressschweißen und das Metalldampfpressschweißen zusammenfasst. Charakterisiert wird das Verfahren durch eine hohe Energiedichte, die in sehr kurzer Zeit der Fügestelle zugeführt wird.
    MCS „Multi Capacitor Source“; technisches System, das mehrere Kondensatoren mit unterschiedlichen Kapazitäten für einen KE-Schweißprozess nutzt.
    Metalldampf-
    pressschweißen
    Verfahren, bei dem die Stromdichte in der Fügestelle so groß sein muss, dass sich Metalldampf bildet, der die Oberflächen der Fügepartner aktiviert. Eine große Kraft presst diese auf Atomabstand zusammen, wodurch eine Verbindung durch atomare Anziehung entsteht. Eine partielle Schmelze (Linse) bildet sich (in der Regel) nicht.
    Nenngrundgrößen

    auf Nennbedingungen bezogene elektrischen Grundgrößen.

    Rückladespannung
    URück/V
    erhält ein Kondensator, wenn er durch den abklingenden Teilstrom des Thyristorzweigs während einer Kommutierung mit entgegengesetzter Ladung als der Anfangsladespannung aufgeladen wird. Die Rückladespannung ist von der Durchschwingladespannung UD0 zu unterscheiden.
    Schlüsselparameter eine Gruppe von Einzelparametern – Stromanstiegszeit tP, Spitzenstrom IP, Schweißzeit th, Stromflusszeit tI, Kondensatorentladezeit tUn, Strom-Zeit-Integral Qit, spezifische Fügeenergie ϵF und Effektivstrom Ieff – die für charakteristische Betriebspunkte den KE-Schweißprozess in seinem elektrischen Verhalten charakterisieren. Für einen Stromverlauf ohne Freilauf ist noch die Stromflussdauer der ersten Halbperiode t hinzuzuzählen.
    Schweißbeginn t0/ms der Zeitpunkt, an dem der Schweißprozess beginnt. Markiert wird dieser Moment nach DVS-Merkblatt 2911 durch Überschreiten der Triggerschwelle (< 5 % vom Messbereichsendwert) oder durch einen speziell definierten Parameter (z. B. beim erstmaligen Überschreiten der Transformator-Sekundärspannung von 4 V).
    spezifische
    Fügeenergie ϵF

    die auf einen Widerstand von 1 mΩ bezogene Fügeenergie. Zusätzlich wird ϵ50 als die auf einen Widerstand von 50 µΩ bezogene Fügeenergie definiert.

    Spitzenstromverhältnis IDP/IP als Verhältnis der Spitzenströme der zweiten und ersten Halbwelle einer gedämpften Schwingung ohne Gleichrichtwirkung.
    Stromnachlauf (NL) Phase einer KE-Schweißung, in der der Hauptstrom vom Freilaufzweig geführt wird.
    thermische Kopplung für Mehrpulsschweißungen. Die Temperatur in der Fügestelle sinkt nur soweit ab, dass bei einem neuen Puls der Schweißvorgang fortgesetzt wird. Dazu darf der Strom die untere Grenze von i > 0,3 IP nicht unterschreiten.
    Typisieren von KE-Maschinen; Darstellen des elektrischen Typs in der Form Q1itvIP; dabei charakterisieren die beiden Typparameter Strom-Zeit-Integral und Stromanstiegsgeschwindigkeit das Schweißverhalten der Maschine. Typen lassen sich auch für Mehr-Kondensator-Schweißungen bestimmen.
    Umladeverhältnis VUU Verhältnis des Betrages der Durchschwingladespannung zur Anfangsladespannung eines Kondensators beim Betrieb ohne Freilaufzweig.
    „Virtuelle Induktivität“ ein getakteter IGBT als Schaltelement im Funktionsschaltkreis, der über unterschiedliche Tastgrade wie eine variable Induktivität eingesetzt werden kann.
    Widerstandspressschweißen    Verfahren, bei dem die Fügestelle konduktiv aufgeschmolzen wird und die Verbindung zwischen den Partnern durch die erstarrte Schmelze (als Linse bezeichnet) entsteht. Während des Schweißvorgangs werden die Fügeteile unter großer Kraft zusammengepresst.